On July 11, 1975 Government of Odisha decided to open this college. However the college was actually founded on August 14,1975, the year observed all over the world as the “International women’s year”. It was first named as” Indra Gandhi Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Baripada” after the name of the then illustrious Prime Minister Smt. Indra Gandhi. It was subsequently renamed as “Govt. Women’s College, Baripada” from 1977.

The college was the first women’s college in the tribal dominated district of Mayurbhanj and it still occupies the rank and pride of the premier Women’s college of the district.

At its beginning, the college was affiliated to Utkal University with intermediate Arts class only having a sanctioned strength of 128. B.A. class was opened from the academic session 1977-78 with a student strength of 32 only. Thereafter, it was increased to 80 and further to 128 with effect from1991-92 to 1992 from the session 2003-04 and further increased to 256 w.e.f 2015-16.

Later on new subjects like, Psychology, Home Science and Education were opened at the BA level. Honours teaching was provided in phased manner-Odia in 1989-90, History and Political Science in 1991-92, English and Economics in 1993-94 and Education, Home Science and Psychology in 1995-96 with 16 seats in each of these honours subjects except in Odia and History which have 32 seats.

Science stream with Hons. in Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology and mathematics was opened w.e.f 2014-15 with 16 seats each. New arts subjects like Geography Hons. (16), Sociology Hons. (16) and Sanskrit Hons. (32) were also opened from this session.

With effect from 2015-16, Commerce stream with honours in accountancy (48) and finance (16), Geology Hons. (32) in Science Stream and Computer Science Hons. (32) under self-Financing mode have been opened.

The college has been affiliated to North Odisha University. In course of time the college has grown in size. It started with only 32 students and 6 lectures. Presently it has a student strength of 928 students and the sanctioned teaching staff of 18 excluding guest faculties which run to 24. Science its inception in 1975, the college functioned in the premises of M.P.K Girl’s High School of the town till the end of the session 2000-2001. The Government was however please to decide (Vide Directorate of Higher Education Letter No. 34803/Dt.22.06.1998) that this college would shift to the building of M.P.C College, Baripada after the letter would be shifted to its new building at Takatpur. The decision was materialised only in the session 2001-2002 in the month of June. The College is now accommodated in Mayurbhanj Palace which was once the palace of the Bhanja dynasty. With separation of +2 from Degree classes by the Government the college is a full-scale Degree College from the session 2001-2002. Since the same building also accommodates M.P.C. Junior College, the classes of Government Women’s College begin from 12.15PM. During 37 years of its existence, the college has marched ahead on the path of progress. The student has shown excellence in both academic and co-curricular activities.

Since July 2015, the administrative block of the college has been shifted from Mayurbhanj Palace to the New Block. It also houses 08 Arts Departments and the Departments of Computer Science and Skill Junction.

The College aims at empowerment of women of the backward District of Mayurbhanj by providing them quality higher education and enabling them for job opportunities, including self-employment. The college aims at making the student conscious of national integration through cultural diversity and of the environment. The college desires to see its students in the mainstream of social and national life.

Innovation and renuvenation has become the catch to excel the future of the college.Our unity and dedication will a bridge the gap between "Mission and Achievement" .